Music Year 2017

Of course, it's too early for a year-end list. But as the proto-fascist organization of my youth insisted, one should always be prepared. For records in hand, * identifies an advance copy, ** something borrowed. Some albums released in previous years are included here, noted by a "-NN" (e.g., -16 for 2016) -- these are mostly imports or self-releases, often hard to figure out official dates, but they were unknown (to me, at least) before the current year.

I keep adding to the 2016 until the end of calendar 2017, especially where the record was known to exist in 2016 and I'm just getting around to it.

New Records

  1. Satoko Fujii Orchestra Tokyo: Peace (Libra)
  2. Aki Takase/David Murray: Cherry Shakura (Intakt)
  3. Run the Jewels: Run the Jewels 3 (Run the Jewels) **
  4. Miguel Zenón: Típico (Miel Music)
  5. Rich Halley/Carson Halley: The Wild (Pine Eagle)
  6. Matthew Shipp Trio: Piano Song (Thirsty Ear)
  7. The XX: I See You (Young Turks) **
  8. Ellery Eskelin/Christian Weber/Michael Griener: Sensations of Tone (Intakt)
  9. François Carrier/Michel Lambert/Alexey Lapin: Freedom Is Space for the Spirit (FMR)
  10. Tinariwen: Elwan (Anti-) **
  11. David Weiss & Point of Departure: Wake Up Call (Ropeadope)
  12. Randy Weston/African Rhythms: The African Nubian Suite (African Rhythms, 2CD)


Records in hand, but which haven't yet been graded.

  • Greg Abate/Tim Ray Trio: Road to Forever (Whaling City Sound)
  • Sebastien Ammann: Color Wheel (Skirl)
  • AMP Trio: Three (self-released)
  • Jason Anick & Jason Yeager: United (Inner Circle Music)
  • Ballrogg: Abaft the Beam (Clean Feed)
  • Gianni Bianchini: Type I (self-released)
  • Carlos Bica & Azul: More Than This (Clean Feed)
  • Alex Cline's Flower Garland Orchestra: Oceans of Vows (self-released, 2CD) *
  • Akua Dixon: Akua's Dance (Akua's Music)
  • Satoko Fujii: Invisible Hound (Cortez Sound)
  • Gerry Gibbs & Thrasher People: Weather or Not (Whaling City Sound)
  • Gorilla Mask: Iron Lung (Clean Feed)
  • Bill Hart: Touch of Blue (Blue Canoe)
  • Jill Jack and the American SongBook Band: Pure Imagination (UpHill Productions -16)
  • Doug MacDonald: Jazz Marathon 2 (BluJazz, 2CD)
  • Kirk MacDonald Jazz Orchestra: Common Ground (Addo)
  • Ben Markley Big Band: Clockwise: The Music of Cedar Walton (OA2)
  • Mark Masters Ensemble: Blue Skylight (Capri)
  • Lisa Mezzacappa: Avant Noir (Clean Feed)
  • The Milwaukee Jazz Orchestra: Welcome to Swingsville! (BluJazz)
  • Billy Mintz: Ugly Beautiful (Thirteenth Note)
  • Nicole Mitchell: Mandorla Awakening II: Emerging Worlds (FPE)
  • Mostly Other People Do the Killing: Loafer's Hollow (Hot Cup)
  • Eivind Opsvik: Overseas V (Loyal Label)
  • Keith Oxman: East of the Village (Capri)
  • Noah Preminger: Meditations on Freedom (self-released)
  • The Reunion Project: Veranda (Tapestry)
  • Adam Rudolph's Moving Pictures: Glare of the Tiger (M.O.D. Technologies)
  • Hiromi Suda: Nagi (BluJazz)
  • Velkro: Too Lazy to Panic (Clean Feed)
  • Michael Zilber: Originals for the Originals (Origin)

Also Noted:

Records in hand, graded B+ or below, in alphabetical order within grade slots:

  • Club D'Elf: Live at Club Helsinki (Face Pelt, 2CD)
  • CP Unit: Before the Heat Death (Clean Feed)
  • Jon De Lucia Group: As the River Sings (Fresh Sound New Talent) *
  • Joana Gama/Luís Fernandes/Richardo Jacinto: Harmonies (Shhpuma)
  • Jean-Brice Godet: Lignes De Crêtes (Clean Feed)
  • Michel Lambert: Alom Mola (Jazz From Rant)
  • The MUH Trio [Roberto Magris/Frantisek Uhlir/Jaromir Helesic]: Prague After Dark (JMood)
  • Doug Munro and La Pompe Attack: The Harry Warren Songbook (GotMusic)
  • Stephen Riley/Peter Zak: Deuce (SteepleChase) **
  • Steve Slagle: Alto Manhattan (Panorama)
  • Throttle Elevator Music: Retrospective (Wide Hive) **
  • Angles 9: Disappeared Behind the Sun (Clean Feed)
  • Bill Anschell: Rumbler (Origin)
  • Heather Bambrick: You'll Never Know (self-released)
  • Chris Byars: The Music of Frank Strozier (SteepleChase) **
  • The CCM Jazz Orchestra as James Bond: Nobody Does It Better (Summit)
  • Tim Daisy: Red Nation "1" (Relay)
  • Bill Evans/Scottish National Jazz Orchestra: Beauty & the Beast (Spartacus -16)
  • Noah Haidu: Infinite Distances (Cellar Live)
  • Howard Johnson and Gravity: Testimony (Tuscarora)
  • Daniel Levin Quartet: Live at Firehouse 12 (Clean Feed)
  • Mark Lewis: New York Session (Audio Daddio)
  • Live Human: Scratch Bop (Cosmic)
  • Donny Most: Mostly Swinging (Summit)
  • Kjetil Møster/Hans Magnus Ryan/Ståle Storløkken/Thomas Strønen: Reflections in Cosmo (RareNoise) *
  • Awa Poulo: Poulo Warali (Awesome Tapes From Africa) **
  • Jimmy Scott: I Go Back Home (Eden River)
  • Luke Sellick: Alchemist (Cellar Live)
  • Tommy Smith Youth Jazz Orchestra: Effervescence (Spartacus)
  • David Wise: Till They Lay Me Down (self-released)
  • Ballister: Slag (Aerophonic) **
  • Jim Black/Óskar Gudjónsson/Elias Stemeseder/Chris Tordini: Mala Mute (Intakt)
  • Gustavo Cortiñas Snapshot: Esse (OA2)
  • Sandy Cressman: Entre Amigos (Cressman Music)
  • Stephan Crump/Ingrid Laubrock/Cory Smythe: Planktonic Finales (Intakt)
  • The Brian Dickinson Quintet: The Rhythm Method (Addo)
  • Dog Leg Dilemma: Not This Time (self-released)
  • Dr. Mint: Voices in the Void (Orenda)
  • Laura Dubin Trio: Live at the Xerox Rochester International Jazz Festival (self-released, 2CD)
  • Nick Finzer: Hear & Now (Outside In Music)
  • Josh Green & the Cyborg Orchestra: Telepathy & Bop (self-released)
  • Cynthia Hilts: Lyric Fury (Blond Coyote)
  • Led Bib: Umbrella Weather (RareNoise) *
  • Chelsea McBride's Socialist Night School: The Twilight Fall (Browntasaurus)
  • Brad Myers & Michael Sharfe: Sanguinaria (Hopefulsongs) (Colloquy)
  • Carol Robbins: Taylor Street (Jazzcats)
  • Sampha: Process (Young Turks) **
  • Dave Soldier: The Eighth Hour of Amduat (Mulatta)
  • Trouble Kaze: June (Circum-Disc)
  • Baron Tymas: Montréal (Tymasmusic)
  • Brent Gallaher: Moving Forward (V&B)
  • Oui' 3: Occupy Your Mind (ITI)
  • Jihye Lee Orchestra: April (self-released)
  • Brian Kastan: Roll the Dice on Life (Kastan, 2CD)
  • Joe Bourne: Upbeat and Sweet (Summit)

Reissues/Compilations/Vault Music:

In previous years I tried to separate reissues from compilations, including newly released vault items in the latter. This made sense when I was reviewing a lot of Recycled Goods material, but led to other problems with year-end lists, so as of 2013 anything containing any previously released material is collected here, and anything that is wholly previously unreleased is treated as new, above.

  1. The Three Sounds: Groovin' Hard: Live at the Penthouse 1964-1968 (Resonance)


Also Noted:

  • Sheer Mag: Compilation (2014-16, Wilsuns RC) **
  • Arthur Lipner: Two Hands One Heart: Best of Arthur Lipner (1990-2014, Malletworks Media, 2CD)
  • Chris Rogers: Voyage Home (2001, Art of Life)


I don't review DVDs. I don't watch DVDs. I don't record them in my database -- well, almost never, anyhow. Part of this is that I don't have the time, the eyes, or at the moment even the equipment. I never request DVDs. Still, some publicists insist on sending them anyway. Here's a list. They're all pending, and will probably remain that way until hell freezes over.

  • Talking Sticks (Percussive Arts Society)


I always come up empty for song lists at year-end poll time. So I thought I'd start here.